FB Twitter Youtube

Honorary Degree Recipients

An Honorary Degree is the highest honour the University can bestow.

Nominees will have made local, provincial, or international contributions to society consistent with the vision, mission, and values of University Canada West. The University confers a maximum of one Honorary Degree per convocation but is not obliged to bestow it annually. 

Since UCW’s inception in 2004, here is a list of the distinguished people to date upon whom the University has conferred Honorary Degrees for their significant accomplishments and contributions to society. 

Here is a list of Honorary Degree Recipients 2007-2019:

Honorary Degree - 2019 Dr. David Strong
Honorary Degree - 2016 Dr. Tom Glavin
Honorary Degree - 2013 Dr. Tung Chan
Honorary Degree - 2012 Dr. Scott Hannah
Honorary Degree - 2010 Dr. Sophie Pierre
Honorary Degree - 2009 Dr. Sharon Stanis, Lafayette String Quartet
Honorary Degree - 2009 Dr. Pamela Highbaugh Aloni, Lafayette String Quartet
Honorary Degree - 2009 Dr. Joanna Hood, Lafayette String Quartet
Honorary Degree - 2009 Dr. Ann Elliott-Goldschmid, Lafayette String Quartet
Honorary Degree - 2008 Dr. Sir John Daniel
Honorary Degree - 2008 Dr. Richard Glickman
Honorary Degree - 2007 Dr. Helen Hughes

Dr. David Strong, 2019 Honorary Degree Recipient, UCW

Dr. David Strong

2019 Honorary Degree Recipient

Dr. David Strong is the founder of University Canada West and was its first president.

He is highly regarded in his fields of geochemical, petrological and Metallogenic Sciences. He taught and conducted his own research and consulted in these fields.

Between 1990-2000, he was the president and vice-chancellor of the University of Victoria serving for two terms. He was also a professor in the School of Earth and Ocean Sciences.

Dr. Strong sits on numerous different boards of corporations and educational councils. Also earning prestigious awards and accolades like a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, Honorary Fellow of the Geological Association of Canada, Canadian Institute of Mining Distinguished Service Award, and a Steacie Memorial Fellowship.

Dr. David Strong has also received honorary doctorates from Memorial University of Newfoundland and St. Francis Xavier University. He currently resides in Victoria.

Tom Lavin, Honorary Degree Recipient

Tom Lavin

2016 Honorary Degree recipient

Chicago-born, Canadian blues legend Tom Lavin wears a coat of many colours when it comes to careers. University Canada West’s (UCW’s) 11th honorary degree recipient is primarily known as an accomplished musician and record producer. He founded the Powder Blues Band in 1978. 

Lavin and his now internationally famous band have gone on to sell more than one million records worldwide and have toured continuously for the last 38+ years. 

Known for its mix of swing, blues, jazz, rock & roll and r & b that gets people of all ages bopping, the band’s sound has garnered numerous international awards. 

But Lavin’s accomplishments and contributions extend beyond the world of music. He is also a high tech, venture capital consultant, CEO of several public companies and founder of a private college. 

In 1992, the multifaceted entrepreneur was appointed managing director of a film SFX software firm at George Lucas’ Lantana Complex in Santa Monica, California.  In 1994, Lavin started one of the first Internet services in Canada (Axion.net) and took it public on the Canadian Exchange (CDNX).  

Read more about UCW’s 11th honorary degree recipient’s accomplishments and contributions to society